Tags

, , , , , ,

I don’t know about you, but generally when I’m in a large city I don’t use my car to get around. I either walk or take public transportation. I’m going to NYC next week, and although I grew up there and visit regularly the transit system is constantly changing.

When I went down last month I drove to Brooklyn. This time around I decided to try taking BoltBus to see if bus transport between Boston and NYC has improved since the Greyhound only days. The bus departs from South Station and arrives in NYC at 34th Street and 8th Avenue.

I have several options for getting to South Station: walking, taxi, the silver line down Washington Street combined with walking or taking the train to South Station. I wanted to find out how long each method would take so I headed over to HopStop where I was able to determine route and time information for walking, the bus/subway combo or bus only travel from my house to South Station.

I was also able to verify travel from the drop off point in NYC to my mother’s house in Brooklyn because HopStop provides travel information for Boston, New York City, Chicago, Long Island, San Francisco, New Jersey and Washington DC.

In addition to specifying your starting point and destination, you specify the day of the week and time when you expect to be traveling, and the language you want the instructions generated in. In addition to English (default), travel instructions can be generated in Chinese, French, German, Greek, Italian, Russian, Spanish and Swahili, making this a great resource for tourists and residents new to our country.


Along with detailed text instructions, you get maps of the route to be traveled. At this point you can add another stop or generate round trip travel information. Once you have the information you need, you can print it out, send the text instructions along with a link to hopstop via email, or send the text instructions as a text message to a wayward friend or relative, or your own phone for future use.

HopStop is a terrific resource. For walkers and users of public transportation in the cities it covers, it’s what google maps is to drivers.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

