Tags

,

While I’ve always been a fan of Dove dark chocolate, I have to say that the ice cream bars have never been among my favorite. Yes they’re covered in that wonderful dark chocolate, but the ice cream (I like vanilla) was not particularly rich or flavorful.

Friday morning I woke up with an extremely bad sore throat. I downed TheraFlu Severe Cold medication, tea with honey and soup, but what I really longed for was ice cream. Sadly I had none in my freezer and wasn’t feeling well enough to go out and get it. In fact, I spent most of the day in bed sleeping. On Saturday I woke up feeling only slightly better, but had committed to taking care of the pets of two clients so I dragged my self out of bed. On the way home I stopped at Foodies to see what was available in the freezer case. Usually I grab a pint of Haagen Daz, Ben & Jerry’s, or if I’m feeling guilty about the calories, Stoneyfield Farms frozen yogurt – I really like the After Dark Chocolate. I also like the frozen yogurt from Sweet Scoops which although lower in fat than premium ice cream, is not a low fat frozen yogurt.

Then I saw the Dove ice cream pints. I’ve loved mint ice cream since I was a kid, and they have this flavor called Give In To Mint. As I hadn’t eaten very much food in 2 days (no calorie concerns) and was hoping the ice cream would numb my throat, I gave in to Dove. I think this is one of the best mint ice creams I’ve had in a very long time. I opened the container to find a layer of dark chocolate ganache. Below was a delicious mint ice cream imbued with Dove’s dark chocolate chips and chocolate swirls. It was heaven. Oddly the description on the web site says :


GIVE IN TO MINT® Ice Cream
Vanilla ice cream with caramel swirls, DOVE® Chocolate chunks and milk Chocolate coated pecans.

I can tell you from eating it, and rechecking the carton as I wrote this entry that there are no nuts and no caramel in this flavor. I tried to send Dove an email letting them know the web site description is incorrect but got an error when I hit the Send button on their contact page . If you love mint ice cream and adore Dove’s dark chocolate, this flavor is for you.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

