Aroa Chocolates

As I walked down Washington Street towards Worcester Square, I remembered that I would be passing Aroa just before I had to cross to the other side. It was late in the afternoon and I couldn’t help but think that a good piece of chocolate would make a great snack until I was able to return home and make dinner. I’d been in Aroa once before, but only had coffee. I was watching my waistline that time and didn’t want to indulge in chocolate or the delicate pastries they make on the premises.

Chili and Mint Chocolate
After looking at everything and asking a few questions, I settled on a piece of Mazorca Chili and a piece of Mazorca Mint. The chili used in the Mazorca Chili is ancho. Its blended with a bittersweet chocolate ganache and then covered in dark chocolate. The mint used in the Mazorca Mint is peppermint. The Mazorca Chili surprised and pleased me with its subtley, while the Mazorca Mint dissapointed me with the same. Its not that I need my chocolate mint candy to taste like Peppermint Patties, but the mint in the Mazorca Mint was just a little to subtle for my taste.

Roasted Cacao Nibs
I also bought a container of Roasted Cacao Nibs. I can’t remember ever seeing these before, but recently heard about them while listening to a program (extreme chocolate) on NPR’s OnPoint. So seeing them unexpectedly at Aroa, I snapped up the last container to give them a try. Roasted cacao nibs are roasted cocoa beans separated from their husks and broken into small bits. When eaten by themselves they have a hint of chocolate flavor, followed by a stronger nutty flavor. They can be used in baking and other recipes to give a slightly nutty flavor and a crunchy texture.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

