Tags

,

ctr_image_7427Today I took some time out of my schedule to take advantage of the Open House at the Museum of Fine Arts (MFA). I was certainly not alone. When I arrived at noon the museum was already crowded with children, their parents and many a tourist.

My focus was on photography and my first stop was the Remis auditorium where I sat in on a photo essay about health disparities in Boston . Next it was onto the Karsh exhibit. Today was the last day, and I was determined not to miss out on seeing the portraits taken by one of the giants of photography. If you missed this exhibit you can learn more about Yousuf Karsh and his work online. No doubt you’ve seen some of his portraits and not known it, like the one of Winston Churchill, or Ernest Hemingway.

Lastly I went to view the exhibit titled Photographic Figures, an exploration of the human form by various photographers including Herb Ritts, James Nachtwey, and Lee Friedlander.  Some of the images are of celebrities doing what they do best such as the one above on the left (Jackie Joyner Kersee), others are nudes, or facial closeups. If you are interested in photgraphy you will want to see this exhibit which shows variuous photographic styles and varrious interpretations of figure photography. The exhibit will be on view May 10, 2009.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

