Electronics · Entertainment

DTV 2009 Converter Box Update

Update 3/23/09– Received the new cable today.

Update 3/19/09 – A full month later, I finally received a response to my request to Digit/ILStream for a new RF cable. They have asked me for my address so they can send it to me.

In January I wrote about my experiment with a DTV converter box on an analog television, and compared the channels I received with the converter box to those I received with Comcast’s “antenna service”. Ultimately I decided that I would drop my cable service and get a second converter box for the TV in my bedroom.

Doing this not only saves me a little coin each month, but it also gives me the freedom to move my 13″ TV around. I can now watch TV while making dinner, and although I don’t do this often, I can also watch TV in my office by bringing the 13″ TV with its converter box into the room.

So to complete my setup I needed to purchase a second converter box. I like the Zenith converter I originally bought at Circuit City and returned there hoping to get another one. Unfortunately they were sold out and I didn’t know where I could get another one. I ended up purchasing a Digit/ILStream at Radio Shack. The Zenith box came with an RF cable and a set of audio video cables. The Digit/ILStream converter box came only with an RF cable.

One night, in fact my first night without cable, I was watching the TV with the Digit/ILStream converter box. I had moved it to the kitchen while I was cooking and then back to the living room. When moving it back I must have knocked the cable against the stand because shortly after, the picture went bad. As I wiggled the antenna and checked out the connections I noticed that one end of the RF cable looked a bit bent. The metal piece had practically detached from the rest of the cable. In my opinion, and by comparison to the Zenith RF cable, it was poorly made.

I went to the Digit/ILStream website and clicked on Contact Us and sent them a message asking for a replacement cable. It’s been over a week and I haven’t gotten a response.  I was going to take it back to Radio Shack for an exchange, but found that I could use the audio video cable that came with the Zenith converter box. It didn’t enhance my reception with the Zenith box and RF cable, but makes a good substitute for the broken Digit/ILStream RF cable. So if you haven’t bought a converter box yet and need to, do not buy the Digit/ILStream converter box. Not only is the RF cable flimsy, but customer service is unresponsive.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

Tell what you think of this -

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.