Homemade strawberry frozen yogurt (@copyrightHomemade strawberry frozen yogurt  Carolyn Kraut)

Homemade strawberry frozen yogurt (@copyright Carolyn Kraut)

Yesterday I decided to make fresh frozen strawberry yogurt using David Lebovitz’s tasty recipe. I had made this once before but forgot just how long it takes from start to finish (3 1/2 hours). I started making it while dinner was in the oven with an eye towards having it as an after dinner snack. Since I started at 7:30 PM, this meant that it wouldn’t be ready to eat until 11 PM which I decided was too late.

Since I had already started the process, I carried it through until all the ingredients were mixed together. The next step was to chill the mixture in the refrigerator for 1 hour prior to putting it in the ice cream freezer. I decided to chill it overnight and finish making it today so I could have it for dessert after lunch. Having mixed all the ingredients together in my food processor I simply removed the processing bowl from the moter, covered it, and placed it in the refrigerator.
dsc_5599
So today while lunch was in the microwave, I pulled the yogurt filled bowl out of the fridge and poured the beautiful pink mixture into my icre cream freezer. To my dismay I say that the plastic portion of the food processor blade had been dyed a strawberry red. Try as I might, the color would not wash off! The lesson of this tale – always take the blade out of the bowl when storing a colorful mixture overnight.

And yes, the final product – frozen strawberry yogurt with homemade granola was well worth the silly mistake.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

