Orzo Caprese IngredientsI’m fortunate enough to have a client who grows his own basil in a planter on his deck.  This past week when I went to care for his cat Bruno and water his plants, I found a note telling me to be sure and take some basil. From the basil I took I was able to make a basil vinaigrette, pesto mayonnaise, and this orzo recipe. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Serves: 1 – 4
Ingredients:
2 cups water
1 cup arborio rice
1/2 cup grape tomatoes cut in half
1 TB fresh basil
3/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup diced onion
1 TB olive oil
1 TB butter
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp black pepper

DSC_6824Heat the water so that when you add it to the rice it isn’t cold. In another pot, heat the olive oil and butter. Once the butter has melted add the onion and cook until it is almost translucent. Add the orzo and coat completely with the butter and oil mixture. Add salt and pepper.

Begin to add the warmed water to the rice. I use a soup ladle and add a ladle full at a time. Stir continuously until the rice has absorbed the water. Continue to add water and stir until the rice is al denté. Mix in the mozzarella until it it completely incorporated and melted. Then add the basil and mix.  Now mix in the tomatoes and continue to stir just until the tomatoes are warm.  Serve immediately. This recipe makes 1 -2 main course servings and 2 – 4 side or appetizer servings.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

