Tags

Tex

Tex

Next to leave after Tigger were Tex and Sipoh. Their mom and dad are doctors. Dad finished school earlier than mom and took a job in Denver last fall. Now that mom has finished her residency she, Tex and Sipoh will be joining dad in Denver. Up until now I have been caring for Tex and Sipoh while their mom traveled to visit their dad and the rest of the family.

Tex is the lover of the two. He was always at the door to greet me, loved to play and would hop up on my lap uninvited for petting, brushing, hugs and kisses. Sipoh on the other hand was usually asleep curled up on the bed, or on the chair under the desk. She likes to be petted and brushed and responds to a game of tease. She doesn’t like to be picked up and would not sit on my lap although encouraged to do so. When not playing with me her favorite thing to do was to sit and stare at me.

The last time I was scheduled to care for Tex & Sipoh there were a couple of surprises. The first was the delay of their mom’s departure due to the havoc caused by volcanic ash closing airports overseas.  Despite the delay I still got to see these wonderful felines every day for two weeks.

Sipoh

Sipoh

The next surprise came in the second week. It was Monday and having been greeted by Tex and having located Sipoh and let her know I was there, I proceeded to the living room and sat down on the couch. Much to my surprise Sipoh came in and hopped up on the couch next to me. She spent some time kneading my stomach with her front paws, and finally satisfied that she had “fluffed the pillow” sufficiently, made her self comfortable on my lap. She reveled in being petted and leaned her face into my hand as I rubbed her chin and head. Every day that week she came and sat on my lap without any encouragement from me. I like to think that she knew these days would be the last she would see me and wanted to be sure I knew that she appreciated the loving care I had given her. It was a bitter-sweet week and I will treasure it always.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

