Tags

,

Stair Lift

Stair Lift

As a child I almost always had a scab on one of my knees because I was always tripping and falling. I was a klutz and frankly not always paying attention to what was in my path as I propelled myself forward towards my destination. I still get black and blue from bumping into things. I know that as I get older I’ll need to take precautions to keep from falling unnecessarily. Most older people do, but for someone who’s already clumsy sooner may be better than later.

One thing I need to do is slow down and pay attention. Being a type-A personality, I’m always rushing around even when its not necessary. There’s no way for me to know what advances in technology and medical devices will be available when I need them, but right now here’s what you can do for yourself and your loved ones to safe proof your environment and keep from falling.

  • rise slowly & carefully when getting out of a chair or bed
  • avoid walking on wet or slippery surfaces
  • don’t look for support by leaning on unstable objects, rolling objects or walls
  • always use the bannister when on stairs
  • adequately light your home; include night lights
  • wear appropriate footwear – walking on cobblestones at any age is hard in high heels
  • don’t wear clothing that’s too long and could cause you to trip
  • use assistive walking devices if necessary
  • make scatter rugs secure or remove them
  • have eyes checked regularly and wear corrective lenses when indicated

Resources:

Photo Source: http://www.flickr.com/photos/dominiccampbell/3195953139/

